Morgan County election runs smoothly

By Ryne Turke on March 19 at 1:40pm

This year there were 22,000 22 registered voters in the county. Jill Waggener, Morgan County’s Clerk, was pleased with the 21.57% voter turnout. She says it wouldn’t have been possible without everyone’s help.

“I just felt it was a great day,” said Waggener.  “My staff and my judges did a wonderful job and I couldn’t do it without them.”

Here’s how Morgan County voted in the statewide races:

In the race for U.S. Senator, Republican Jim Oberweis carried Morgan County with 2,323 votes while Doug Truax received 1,143.

Republican Kirk Dillard led Morgan County in the race for Governor with 2,332 votes.  Behind him was Bruce Rauner with 893, Bill Brady with 474 and Dan Rutherford with 297.  As for the Democratic race for Governor, it was Pat Quinn leading the Morgan County polls with 289 votes over Tio Hardiman who had 269.

In the State Treasurer race, Republican Tom Cross carried Morgan County with 2,238 votes while Bob Grogan had 1,258.

In the 7th District Judicial race it was Republican John Madonia with 2,121 Morgan County votes and Kent Gray with 1,328.

And in the Democratic 18th Congressional race, 294 Morgan County voters selected Darrel Miller compared to 244 for Rob Mellon.