11 In Line for the IC Hall of Fame

By Gary Scott on November 11, 2019 at 2:25pm

Eleven people are headed to the Illinois College sports hall of fame in February.

            The list includes a former IC president, one athlete from the 1980s, three from the 1990s, and six athletes from this century.

            The former president is Dr. Don Mundinger, who served as president from 1973 to 93. He oversaw the move of IC from NAIA to the NCAA division 3, the move of IC to the Midwest Conference, and the rise of women’s sports here.

            The oldest athlete coming back is 1984 graduate Jody Collins, a softball pitcher who recorded the school’s first softball no hitter. 1991 graduate Kathy Roberts Rohrer was a standout in track and field. Football and baseball star Rodney Flowers will be inducted from the class of 1995. And, 1994 graduate Dan Keller makes it to the hall after starring on the baseball and soccer fields.

            There are six athletes from the 20-teens. They are quarterback Michael Bates, teammate Cecil Brimmage, Dominick Dalfonso from baseball, three sport standout Melissa Norville, Hannah McGinnis Wallace from basketball, and Dr. Megan Stringer Gyrion, a pentathlon and heptathlon record holder.

            The 11 will be inducted February 7th at Cummings Dining Hall on the IC campus.