Commission wants three school buildings made landmarks

By Gary Scott on March 4, 2016 at 9:16am

The Jacksonville Historic Preservation Commission wants to add three city schools to the historic landmark collection.

According to reports from the Jacksonville Journal-Courier, the schools are Jefferson, Washington and Franklin Elementary Schools.

Jefferson stopped operating as a school several years ago and is owned by the Jefferson Park Community Center. Franklin Elementary is owned by Morgan County Civic Services and currently serves as the building for 8 Points Charter School.

According to the newspaper, such a designation would not prevent owners from making changes to the buildings.