Disaster declaration issued for Morgan County

By Gary Scott on December 30, 2015 at 6:08pm

Photo from the Morgan County ESDA Facebook page showing sandbags on the Illinois River from today.

Morgan County has been added to a list of counties in a state disaster proclamation by Governor Bruce Rauner after flooding this week.

That brings the total of declared counties to 12. Rauner declared Calhoun, Jackson, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Randolph and St. Clair counties disaster areas on Tuesday.

Morgan County Emergency Services Coordinator Phil McCarty says the county itself has also issued a disaster declaration, along with the Village of Meredosia.

McCarty says preliminary sandbagging efforts have begun on the Illinois River. It’s currently at 23.6 feet at the gauge site in Meredosia, which is just below the beginning of major flood stage. It’s expected to crest at 26.5 feet but remain in major flood stage into mid-next week.

McCarty says the disaster declarations open up more resources, including pumps, trucks and other heavy equipment.

State Senator Sam McCann this week traveled throughout the Illinois and Mississippi River valleys and inspected flooding in Florence, Hillview, Kampsville, Hardin and Grafton.

In a press release, McCann said, “It’s just awful that after record flooding last spring, many of our communities are facing the same challenge again this winter, but it is a testament to the character of our residents that they can repeatedly fight back the surging waters and rebuild.