Jax Savings Bank, Crimestoppers honored among others at Chamber meeting

By Gary Scott on January 29, 2016 at 7:49am

Plenty of local businesses were honored during last night’s Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce annual meeting.

Jacksonville Savings Bank was announced as the Business of the Year for 25 or more employees. Rich Foss is the president of the bank.

“We are very, very honored, and we think it’s really nice timing, because this is the year we’re going to celebrate our 100th anniversary. To have the chamber honor us as the large business of the year, it means an awful lot,” Foss says.

The Not-For-Profit Business of the Year was Crimestoppers of Morgan and Scott Counties. The organization recently celebrated its 30-year anniversary and surpassed the $100-thousand mark in rewards paid for information leading to arrests.

“It’s very exciting, we’re very grateful and humbled like the other award winners that were recognized by the community in which we serve. We appreciate it very much,” says director Loren Hamilton.

The Circle of Excellence award was given to Jan Blue, who served as the president of the Farmers’ State bank and Trust Company for nearly a quarter-century. He continues to serve on the bank’s board of directors and has been with the bank for over 50 years.

The Small Business of the Year was announced as radio stations WJVO and WJIL.

Andy Smith was elected the chairman of the chamber board, replacing Marsha Awe.