Ray LaHood earns Order of Lincoln Award

By Ryne Turke on February 12, 2016 at 12:08pm

Former 18th District Congressman Ray LaHood has earned the state’s highest professional achievement and public service honor.

Governor Bruce Rauner announced the six winners of the 2016 Order of Lincoln Award this morning.

LaHood, who served as the 18th District Representative from 1995-2009, was a strong advocate for preserving the legacy of Abraham Lincoln. He currently serves as the Senior Advisor to the Dirksen Congressional Center and co-chairs Building America’s Future.

The 52nd annual convention and investiture will take place in Peoria on May 7th. Funds raised from the event will provide Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Scholarships to one student from each of the 56 four-year college and universities in Illinois and one student representing the state’s community colleges.

LaHood’s son, Darin, is currently serving his first term as an Illinois 18th District Congressman.