IC and Mac players finalists for National Honors

By Gary Scott on September 25, 2019 at 10:18am

Two local college football players are among the finalists for the 2019 William V Campbell Trophy from the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

     The finalists must be a senior in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football talent, and demonstrate leadership ability.

     The nominees locally are Trevor Schubert of MacMurray College, and Michael Koos from Illinois College. Schubert is a 5-11, 255 pound defensive lineman from Mount Vernon. Koos is a 6-1, 225 linebacker from El Paso-Gridley.

     The MFF will announce 12 to 14 finalists October 30th. Each will get an $18-thousand postgraduate scholarship, and travel to New York for the dinner.