WLDSWEAI is proud to be your source for election results during the 2024 Primary elections. Please check back as results are posted.

Morgan County Circuit Clerk - Republican Nominee

Julia Anderson (I) -

Jennifer Bonjean -

Morgan County Coroner - Republican Nominee

Marcy Patterson (I) -

Alan McClellan -

Morgan County Commissioner (1 seat) - Republican Nominee (Fanning Vacancy) (Select 1)

Mike Lonergan -

Donny "Racer" Wood -

Tim Hughes -

Garrett Waggener -

99th District - Illinois House of Represeentatives (Frese Vacancy) Republican Nominee

Kyle Moore -

Eric Snellgrove -

Greene County State's Attorney - Republican Nominee (Briscoe Vacancy)

Donald " Donnie" Schaaf -

Dayna Church-Switzer -

13th District - U.S. House of Representatives Republican Nominee

Thomas Clatterbuck -

Joshua Loyd -

Pike County Board - Republican Nominee (Select 3)

Jim Sheppard (I) -

Lance Kendrick -

Joseph Cobb (I) -

Derek Ross (I) -

Brown County Circuit Clerk - Republican Nominee (Johnson Vacancy)

Brooke Robinson -

Niki Maxwell -

Brown County Board - Republican Nominee (Select 4)

Courtney Garfield (I) -

Robert J. Akright -

Robert L. Willis (I) -

Karl H. Groesch (I) -

Mark Richard Yingling (I) -

Michael B. Myers -

7th Judiciary Circuit - Judge Kenneth Diehl Vacancy

Aaron E. Bellhm -

Thomas D. Denby -

Jonathan B. Verticchio -

Proposition: Shall the Waverly Fire Protection District be formed and have an aggregate extension under Property Tax Extension Limitation Law not to exceed $190,000 for the 2024 levy year?

Yes -

No -

Waggener: Trump Stays On Ballot Amid Wait for U.S. Supreme Court Ruling

By Benjamin Cox on February 29, 2024 at 3:49pm

Morgan County Clerk Jill Waggener says that the Republican primary ballot is the same for now. A Cook County judge ruled last night that former President Donald Trump should be removed from the state’s primary ballot but that decision has been stayed until further clarification is given by the U.S. Supreme Court on a similar […]

March 19th Primary Early Voting Under Way: Here’s What You Need to Know in Morgan County

By Benjamin Cox on February 9, 2024 at 9:23am

Early voting for the March 19th primary began Thursday. Morgan County Clerk Jill Waggener says her office is ready to accept early voters: “My office hours are 8:30AM-4:30PM Monday through Friday. We will be open Saturday, February 17th from 9AM-Noon. The last day to register to vote is Tuesday, February 20th. Then, we are also […]

Waverly Fire Hosting Informational Meeting Over Tax Referendum

By Benjamin Cox on February 6, 2024 at 8:29am

The Waverly Volunteer Fire Department is hosting an informal meeting this weekend for the public. The department has petitioned for an advisory referendum to be placed on the March primary ballot to create a taxing district for the creation of a Fire Protection District. The tax would be .4% to help the fire department with […]

Anderson Announces Candidacy for Morgan Circuit Clerk

By Jeremy Coumbes on December 5, 2023 at 9:42pm

A Morgan County incumbent Republican has announced their candidacy to stay on the job. Current Morgan County Circuit Clerk Julia Anderson announced she is seeking the Republican nomination for Circuit Clerk of the Courts late Monday, following the close of the filing period. Anderson was appointed to the office in April of this year, following […]

Major Party Candidate Petition Filing Concludes Today

By Benjamin Cox on December 4, 2023 at 7:45am

The filing period for candidates for county, state, and federal offices from the major parties concludes today. This past Monday was the big day for filing petitions at county courthouses and the Illinois State Board of Elections in Springfield. A few candidates have filed this past week ahead of today’s deadline. In Greene County, Democrat […]

Briscoe Will Not Seek Reelection as Greene County State’s Attorney

By Benjamin Cox on November 29, 2023 at 12:30pm

Greene County State’s Attorney Caleb Briscoe says he is not seeking re-election in 2024. Briscoe has served 3 terms in office as a Republican. Briscoe was first elected Greene County state’s attorney in 2012 when the seat was vacated by Matthew Goetten, who pursued an unsuccessful run for U.S. House to represent the state’s 13th […]

Candidate Filings As of Monday for 2024 Elections

By Benjamin Cox on November 28, 2023 at 11:05am

Monday was the first day that major party candidates could file to appear on the ballot. According to the State Board of Elections website today, the following federal candidates have filed for the U.S. House, Republican Darin LaHood in the 16th District, and in the 13th District, incumbent Democrat Nikki Budzinski has filed along with […]

Wood Announces Candidacy for County Commissioner

By Jeremy Coumbes on October 13, 2023 at 3:45pm

Another area resident is tossing his hat in the ring for a seat on the Morgan County Board. Donny “Racer” Wood of Jacksonville announced his candidacy for the open commissioner’s seat in next year’s election. An alum of Jacksonville High School, Wood has owned and operated Wood Wheels on West Morton Avenue for more than […]

Morgan County Clerk Asking Residents to Check Voter Registration Cards

By Jeremy Coumbes on October 13, 2023 at 11:17am

The Morgan County Clerk updated the County Board on the process of sending out new voter registration cards ahead of the 2024 election this week. During the County Commissioner’s meeting Tuesday morning, County Clerk Jill Waggener said the process of mailing the new cards is going well. By the time all cards are mailed out, […]

Lonergan Announces Candidacy For Morgan County Commissioners

By Benjamin Cox on October 13, 2023 at 5:40am

A long-time Jacksonville School District 117 Board of Education member has announced his candidacy for the Morgan County Commissioners. Mike Lonergan of South Jacksonville will be seeking the Republican nomination in 2024. Lonergan attended Murrayville grade schools and Routt High School before completing college at Benedictine College in Atchison, Kansas and later at Illinois College. […]