Jacksonville Municipal Election Candidates

By Ryne Turke on November 28, 2016 at 12:04pm

Candidates for Jacksonville’s upcoming municipal election are set, barring a last minute entry.

The week-long filing period closes today at 4:30 p.m., and as it stands, two wards will be determined through an election.

In Ward 1, Eren Williams will challenge incumbent Jeffrey Hopkins. As for the two year term in Ward 4, incumbent Aaron Scott will run against Lance Bruere.

Other candidates running for open seats include Andy Ezard for Mayor, Skip Bradshaw for Clerk, Ron Smiljanich for Treasurer, Lori Large-Oldenettel for Ward 2, Marcy Patterson for Ward 3, Mike Wankel for the four year term in Ward 4 and Steve Warmowski for Ward 5. Each candidate currently holds the position they are running for.

According to Clerk Skip Bradshaw, there won’t be a primary race since there aren’t three or more candidates running for a single position.

The election takes place April 4, 2017